Checkout/Chaser for Skeptics Convention

In a special consumer affairs discussion panel, the 30th National Australian Skeptics Convention will feature three entertainers from hit ABC satirical programs The Checkout and The Chaser!

Julian Morrow, Kirsten Drysdale and Chas Licciardello are known for their fearless attacks on ignorance and double-dealing wherever that might be – politicians, shonky services or pseudoscience (vitamins a speciality).

They will be joined by two leading figures in consumer protection in Australia: Delia Rickard, deputy chair of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC), and Alan Kirkland, CEO of CHOICE.

This dynamic, informative and no-doubt hilarious session will be an exciting addition to what is already proving to be a stellar line-up of speakers – the largest number of international speakers at any Australian Skeptics Convention (outside of TAM Oz 2010).

We’re also pleased to announce several other new speakers:

  • Peta Ashworth, a leading researcher in understanding public perception to climate change and low emission technologies (former leader of the CSIRO’s Science into Society Group)
  • Dr Amanda Bauer has a PhD in Astrophysics, and she is currently Research Astronomer and Outreach Officer at the Australian Astronomical Observatory
  • Dr Alex Wodak, Director of the Alcohol and Drug Service at St Vincent’s Hospital in Sydney, and President of the Australian Drug Law Reform Foundation and former President of the International Harm Reduction Association

These are all in addition to the previously announced:

  • The Skeptics’ Guide to the Universe, including special SGU podcast recordings and private sessions – Steve Novella, Jay Novella, Bob Novella, Evan Bernstein, Rebecca Watson
  • Dr Karl Kruszelnicki – Australia’s leading science communicator
  • Dick Smith – patron of Australian Skeptics, entrepreneur, 1986 Australian of the Year
  • Peter FitzSimons – journalist, author, sports commentator
  • Robyn Williams – presenter of ABC Radio Science Show and Ockham’s Razor
  • George Hrab – musician extraordinaire and convention MC
  • Dr Rachael Dunlop – skeptical campaigner, science researcher, VP of Australian Skeptics Inc
  • Sonya Pemberton – Emmy Award-winning filmmaker, producer of Jabbed
  • Kendrick Frazier – Fellow of the US AAAS, science writer and editor of The Skeptical Inquirer
  • Bettina Arndt – sex therapist, journalist and clinical psychologist

For more details on the speakers, go to the Speakers page on the Convention website.